Home   •   Films   •   TV Series   •   Everything Else   •   Store   •   Search   •   Credits/Legal   •   Help   •   E-Mail   •   The Corner Penthouse

Category: Home Video

The Ghostbusters Parody You KNEW Was Coming

PermalinkBy Paul Rudoff on Sep. 8, 2017 at 2:35 PM , Categories: Ghostbusters 1, Home Video, 2016 Parody Remake
Image

Ever since the gimmick of an all-female Ghostbusters was announced, I knew what would come from it. Surprisingly, it was not the "all girl" feature I expected. Brazzers, a well-known company that specializes in these types of videos, released a Ghostbusters adult parody last year that is kinda, sort of, not really based on Paul Feig's film. I know what you're thinking? Wasn't there already a Ghostbusters adult parody? Yes, Hustler made one in 2011, which I reviewed (and was later quoted in the official press release). That wasn't even the first one based on the original Ghostbusters.

I'll try to keep this review as clean as possible (there will be some mild words and cartoon genitals), but it IS a porn film, so if that offends, don't continue any further. Also, the bulk of this review is about the movie itself, which was originally released on the website in four parts. Information about the DVD release will be included afterward.

Read more »

3 comments »

Cartoon All-Stars To The Rescue VHS Review

PermalinkBy Paul Rudoff on Mar. 1, 2017 at 3:43 PM , Categories: Real Ghostbusters, Home Video
Over at The Corner Penthouse, I've been porting over all 100+ reviews that I've written over the past 15+ years on various other sites. A new retro review will be posted on every even-numbered day for the next four months, with some truly new reviews slipped in on some of the odd-numbered days as I get them done. This one is more appropriate to post over here at Spook Central.

Image

This review was originally written on March 10, 2011
Awesome Crossover Special, It's A Shame It'll Never Be Released On DVD

Cartoon All-Stars To The Rescue was a half-hour animated drug prevention special starring many of the popular cartoon characters from American Saturday morning television shows, which was simulcast on April 21, 1990 on all three major American television networks (ABC, NBC, and CBS), most independent stations, as well as cable networks Nickelodeon and USA.

Cory (voice of Lindsay Parker), is worried about her older brother Michael (voice of Jason Marsden, who would later voice Garrett in Extreme Ghostbusters) because he's started acting differently. When her piggy bank goes missing, her cartoon tie-in toys come to life to help her find it. After discovering it in Michael's room, along with his stash of drugs, the various cartoon characters proceed to band together and take him on a fantasy journey to teach him the risks and consequences a life of drug-use can bring. The villain of the story, besides the drugs, is Smoke (voice of George C. Scott), an anthropomorphic cloud of smoke with a mafioso-like appearance and personality.

The "Cartoon All-Stars" that appear in the special, from 10 different franchises, with their original voice actors, are:

* The Smurfs: Papa Smurf, Brainy Smurf, Hefty Smurf (though Smurfette is seen on the poster and VHS cover, she does not appear in the special).

* ALF The Animated Series: Alf.

* Garfield and Friends: Garfield.

* Alvin and the Chipmunks: Alvin, Simon, Theodore.

* The New Adventures of Winnie the Pooh: Winnie the Pooh, Tigger.

* Muppet Babies: Baby Kermit, Baby Piggy, Baby Gonzo.

* The Real Ghostbusters: Slimer.

* Looney Tunes: Bugs Bunny, Daffy Duck.

* Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Michelangelo (although he appears in the special, he is not shown on the poster or VHS cover).

* DuckTales: Huey, Dewey, Louie.

The special was distributed on VHS videocassette by Buena Vista Home Entertainment (Disney), but it was only available for free rental, not for sale. This is probably due to the PSA nature of the special and the legal issues with the licensing of the characters for profit. Make a video for free rental only, no profit; sell it, and there's profit. Video stores were given a poster featuring the VHS cover art (you can buy a 11"x17" reproduction) to display in their windows or on their walls to advertise that they had the tape available for free rental, hence the "Rent It Here FREE!" banner in the upper left corner of the poster. I saw the special when it aired back in April 1990 and secured one of the rental VHS tapes from the "previously viewed" section of the video store that used to be in my town. I still have that tape, and will never sell it.
Leave a comment »

The Real Ghostbusters Volumes 6 to 10 Sony 2016 DVD Review

PermalinkBy Paul Rudoff on Jan. 30, 2017 at 11:50 PM , Categories: Real Ghostbusters, Home Video
Image

Last year, Sony released 10 volumes of The Real Ghostbusters on DVD, which were completely different from The Real Ghostbusters: Complete Collection 25-disc DVD box set TimeLife released back in 2008. I already reviewed Sony's Volumes 1 through 5, and today I will review Volumes 6 through 10. Before I begin, it is important to note that, unlike the first five volumes, these volumes are currently NOT available in a box set. You can ONLY buy them individually, though I will be reviewing them as a whole.

Read more »

8 comments »

Ghostbusters 2016 4K Blu-Ray DVD Home Video Review

PermalinkBy Paul Rudoff on Oct. 28, 2016 at 11:30 PM , Categories: Home Video, 2016 Parody Remake
Image
(photo by me, Paul Rudoff, taken in Target on Oct. 11, 2016)

Ghostbusters 2016 (aka Ghostbusters: Answer The Call) has been on home video...excuse me, home entertainment for a few weeks now. It's now time for Spook Central to give its official review, and give you the comprehensive details on what to find in each release. It should be noted that this review only covers United States releases, though it will likely be applicable to Canada, too. Not sure about Mexico or areas outside of North America. I suspect that the discs are, for the most part, the same worldwide, but I can't say for sure, so I'll just err on the safe side and cover what I know has been released here in the U.S.

Read more »

4 comments »

The Real Ghostbusters Volumes 1 to 5 Sony 2016 DVD Review

PermalinkBy Paul Rudoff on Aug. 30, 2016 at 10:32 PM , Categories: Real Ghostbusters, Home Video
Image

You may recall that TimeLife released The Real Ghostbusters: Complete Collection DVD box set back in 2008. This is NOT a review of that set. The set that I am reviewing today does NOT contain the complete series, nor is it being advertised as such. In fact, this set is just a collection of the individual volumes that are also sold separately.

Read more »

4 comments »

:: Next >>


Established August 1996
SpookCentral.tk


In Loving Memory of Joel Richard Rudoff (July 28, 1944 - January 20, 2014)

In Loving Memory of Linda Joyce Rudoff (July 12, 1948 - November 29, 2015)

Doreen Mulman (May 22, 1961 - March 14, 2014)

COMMUNITY LINKS

NEWS
GB Reboot Facebook
GB News
Proton Charging
GB Fans
Ghostbusters Mania
Ghostbusters Wiki

FORUMS
GB Fans
EctoZone

OFFICIAL
Ghostbusters.com
Facebook
Twitter


Paul's For Sale/Trade List

Ghostbusters Ecto-Web

The Art Of Tristan Jones

Ghostbusters Merch at Amazon.com

User tools

XML Feeds

AWARDS I'VE WON



powered by b2evolution free blog software