Home   •   Films   •   TV Series   •   Everything Else   •   Store   •   Search   •   Credits/Legal   •   Help   •   E-Mail   •   The Corner Penthouse

Category: Clothing

Ghostbusters Loot Crate October 2017 Unboxing

PermalinkBy Paul Rudoff on Nov. 13, 2017 at 11:30 PM , Categories: Ghostbusters 1, Clothing, Toys
Image

If you've been following the Spook Central Facebook page - and if you're not, why? - you'd know that last month Loot Crate, the subscription box service that provides monthly boxes of geek and gaming related merchandise, had lots of exclusive Ghostbusters items. The kind folks at Loot Crate sent me a few of the items, which I will document in an "unboxing" article, as I have done in the past with other mystery boxes.

Read more »

Leave a comment »

Ghostbusters Venkman Costume Jumpsuit Review

PermalinkBy Paul Rudoff on Oct. 13, 2016 at 4:29 PM , Categories: Clothing
Image

Halloween is fast approaching, and if you're in the need for a costume, TV Store Online literally has you covered. They have an officially-licensed, exclusive Ghostbusters Venkman Costume Jumpsuit that was produced by Mad Engine, the same company that made all of those Ghostbusters t-shirts about 10 years ago that were popping up in Hot Topic and everywhere else.

Image

This is being called a "costume", but that's kinda misleading. What we have here is a basic beige/khaki jumpsuit adorned solely with the No Ghost logo and "Venkman" patches. Nothing more, nothing less. You don't get a Proton Pack, pads, belt, and other accoutrements. So, you'll look a little "naked" using this "as is" as a costume. Of course, you could just say that your pack is in the shop :-)

The jumpsuit is made from 100% cotton, so it has a soft feel to it, especially with the woolen cuffs and collar. You could even wear it as pajamas. Unsure of what size I should wear (I never wore a jumpsuit before), I went with "Large", which is approx. 66 inches (5.5 feet) from collar to toe. It's large and baggy enough to wear a full set of clothes underneath, so I think I'll be good. The zipper runs from collar to crotch.

Image

Bear in mind that this is a jumpsuit, not a flightsuit, like the guys wore in the movie. So, if you're looking for screen-accuracy, you'll have to look elsewhere. If you're looking for something that looks close enough, something you can just put on and go, then this will do the job. That said, I wish it were a little more like a flightsuit, as I prefer many pockets. The jumpsuit only has side pockets, one on each hip.

Image

The "Venkman" patch is on the left breast, and it is sewn and glued on very well. I see no indication that this will come off after lots of wear and washing.

Image

The logo patch is on the right sleeve, and it's sewn into the fabric, so it certainly won't come off. The quality on mine is a little "off". Notice the bits of white peeking through the red. It's not really an issue, and most people won't pay attention enough to notice it, but I still felt I should mention it since it's easy to see in my photo.

Image

The jumpsuit even looks good on this State Home For The Ugly escapee.

The Ghostbusters Venkman Costume Jumpsuit is currently priced at $69.95 and is available in S, M, L, XL, and 2X sizes. If you use coupon code TVTEN to get 10% off, you'll pay $62.95 (shipping is free).

If you went to Ghostbusters Fans, you'll be paying $89.46 ($66.99 + $22.47 shipping) for the khaki flightsuit ($44.99), Venkman name patch ($10.00), and No Ghost logo patch ($12.00). However, you'd have to sew on the patches yourself, and if you're like me, that's more work than you want to put into it. So, you're trading off screen-accuracy (and LOTS of pockets) for convenience and a cheaper price.

By the way, add Rubie's Deluxe Costume Proton Backpack to complete the look. It says that it's for kids, but the customer info says that it can fit adults, though it will look a little small (apparently, it's 18" tall, whereas a real pack is about 26" tall). (The photo below depicts a Rubie's model wearing their pack on one of their jumpsuits, but it serves as good reference to what their pack would look like on an adult wearing any jumpsuit.)

Image
2 comments »

Cryptozoic Ghostbusters Mighty Meeples Preview / Stay Puft Apron Review

PermalinkBy Paul Rudoff on Aug. 31, 2016 at 8:03 PM , Categories: Ghostbusters 1, Clothing, Toys
Image

Colin Robinson from Cryptozoic Entertainment sent me a package (no thanks to FedEx for nearly destroying it) containing some of their Ghostbusters goodies. The first thing I saw in the box was a few "2016 Event Exclusive" packs of their Ghostbusters Mighty Meeples. The beloved Meeple, an iconic board game icon shape in Europe, is a 1" wooden cut-out of classic characters from the original Ghostbusters films. These distinctive figures are highly collectible and can even be used in your favorite board games. I know I've seen something like this when I was a child, but I can't remember what of. These little guys are cute, and being that they're little "blocks" of wood - approx. half an inch thick - they stand up quite easily, making them perfect to display on a shelf or a desk.

Image

The "2016 Event Exclusive" packs, which have been distributed at the Cryptozoic booth at various conventions this year, contain the following three figures:

#7 - Slimed Peter Venkman
#8 - Slimed Ray Stantz
#9 - Exclusive Slimer

Unlike so many other things of this nature, they are not "blind bags". The figures depicted on the front of the bag are exactly what you'll find inside. You'll notice that these figures are numbered starting with #7. If you're wondering where figures #1 through #6 are, they'll be here soon enough. These event packs are meant to be a PREVIEW of what's to come...

Image

Coming in January/February 2017 is the Mighty Meeples Ghostbusters Ecto-1 Collection Tin. Stored inside a metal case designed after the Ecto-1 are Meeples of all four original Ghostbusters, Slimer, and an appropriately oversized Stay Puft. You can pre-order it now at Amazon

If you want the "2016 Event Exclusive" pack, you can either scope out the Cryptozoic website for any future conventions, or buy from one of the scalpers on eBay. The extras that I was sent to giveaway have already been claimed.

Whether there will be more Ghostbusters Mighty Meeples after these nine will depend on how well these sell. Currently, there are no plans for more.

Image

The other item in the box was the Ghostbusters Stay Puft Apron & Chef Hat, which is available for purchase right now at Amazon. Part practical item, part costume, the Stay Puft apron & hat combo is perfect for grilling, or rampaging through the streets of New York, and would make for a nifty "last minute" Halloween costume. Quick thought: If you're toasting marshmallows on the grill while wearing it, is it considered cannibalism? It's made of 100% cotton and is an adult "one size fits all" size. I certainly had no problems fitting into it. The only downside I could find to the apron is that it lacks a front pocket, which would come in handy when using it for practical purposes. If you want to see more photos of it being used, check out Fear's Confections and Tracey's Basement on Instagram (alt url).
Leave a comment »

Established August 1996
SpookCentral.tk


In Loving Memory of Joel Richard Rudoff (July 28, 1944 - January 20, 2014)

In Loving Memory of Linda Joyce Rudoff (July 12, 1948 - November 29, 2015)

Doreen Mulman (May 22, 1961 - March 14, 2014)

COMMUNITY LINKS

NEWS
GB Reboot Facebook
GB News
Proton Charging
GB Fans
Ghostbusters Mania
Ghostbusters Wiki

FORUMS
GB Fans
EctoZone

OFFICIAL
Ghostbusters.com
Facebook
Twitter


Paul's For Sale/Trade List

Ghostbusters Ecto-Web

The Art Of Tristan Jones

Ghostbusters Merch at Amazon.com

User tools

XML Feeds

AWARDS I'VE WON



powered by b2evolution free blog software